Nativity Advent Calendar

I have been shopping for a Nativity Advent Calendar but I haven’t found exactly what I am looking for.  What I had in mind was some kind of cute box with 24 or 25 little doors that open, and room inside for figures for a nativity scene.  Preferably already stocked with the figures!  I do have child friendly nativity sets, but haven’t found any boxes that would fit.  So I decided just to make one on the computer for this year.

 

I made this calendar with spaces to put a picture for each day in December up until Christmas Eve.  Then I realized that Owen (who LOVES numbers) would probably like to be able to tell how many days left until Christmas, so I revised it:

Next I made slightly smaller boxes and filled them with all kinds of Christmas clipart pictures.

If you have one of those Nativity calendars with small boxes or doors, you could cut apart these pictures and put them into the boxes instead of candy, etc.

There are a few extra choices on this sheet because I knew Owen would like to pick the pictures he liked best each day.  The idea is for him to choose a picture and glue it on the calendar every day.  His cutting is improving, but he might need some help with this!

In Kindergarten we always made a Kindness calendar.  At school we made a Santa face that was numbered to count the days until Christmas.  Each child counted out 25 cottonballs and took them home in a plastic baggie.  I sent home a note and a list of kind things children could do each day to earn the cottonball for their project.  If you’d like to see that – check out my posts for December and Christmas last year.  You could easily use the Kindness ideas along with this Nativity calendar too!

December Kindness Calendar

I thought all this clipart was so cute that I decided to make another project.  I wrote out the story of Jesus’ birth and printed clipart to go on each page.  My idea is to read the book to my little bunnies and add a picture each day through the month.  By Christmas the whole book will be illustrated.

Here is a link to see how it looks – I printed out the book pages and put them into a red folder with prongs, and glued the cover on the front.

Christmas story

Nativity calendar pictures

cover

Here are printable copies of the calendar too!

December calendar

December calendar coundown

calendar pictures

Do you get as excited about Christmas as I do?  It’s even more fun sharing it with grandchildren!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 16:29:53

    Thank you for all your great ideas! Katie

    Reply

  2. Lucille
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 18:51:27

    I started the kindness calendar today with my class. We talked about each item and then they took it home to complete. We’ll see how many I get back in January. THey were so serious during our class discussion and thought about it throughout the day because they kept making comments about kindness. I really have a sweet bunch of children. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • dbsenk
      Dec 01, 2011 @ 20:04:28

      It sounds like a great class! I hope the kindness keeps on through this busy month! Did you find a good teacher friendly parent gift project?

      ________________________________

      Reply

  3. Lucille
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 06:21:57

    I found “air drying” clay from Crayola at WalMart. I’m going to have the kids make a “candy dish” and then paint it. We’ll fill it with candy before we wrap it. I really wanted something that could be made totally by the kids and it actually meets a science benchmark about changing materials!!! Kindergarten children are so funny. I had 2 who came in yesterday announcing that it was Christmas. I had to bust their bubble and inform them that Christmas was 24 days away. lol They’re enjoying the Santa countdown with the cotton balls…..we started that yesterday also. fun, fun, fun!

    Reply

  4. Elaine
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 02:52:56

    Thanks for sharing your great nativity printables!! I think I’m going to read your story to my religion class this week as it’s our last class before Christmas. They’ll enjoy it!!

    I share printables on my blogs as well, if you’re ever interested, please check them out….”Commotion from the Ocean of Life” and “The Schoolhouse”.

    Reply

  5. Holly
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 17:11:20

    You are brilliant! Thank you!!!!

    Reply

  6. Sandra D
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 14:08:15

    Love these ideas! I was looking for an alternative to the traditional advent calendars and this will work great! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,632 other followers

