Halloween Counting Book

I loved making this Halloween Counting Book as a countdown to Halloween.  It gave me an opportunity to practice numeral writing and sense of number along with Halloween fun.  I also tied in literature and activities that went along with each page.  We began with Humbug Witch by Lorna Balian (even better if you can con someone into coming in wearing a witch costume.)

The text read 1 Witch on Halloween Night.  We read many witch books – including Humbug Witch.

We worked on rhyming – cat and bat, and learned bat facts.

We did a KWL activity about our bones and skeletons.  The children learned the bones song from Dr. Jean, touching the appropriate bones as we sing.  We created this page using the edge of a tongue depressor and the end of a toilet paper tube – dipped in white paint.  Then we used a toothpick to add eyes and details.  The ribs were a tongue depressor broken in half.

Page 4  was 4 Ghosts all dressed in White.  Sorry I don’t have a photo of that page – the children glued on 4 ghosts.  They were made by wrapping a tissue over a cotton ball and then wrapping a rubber band around it.  The kids used markers to add eyes.  They also used a piece of yellow chalk over the page to add a spooky feel before they glued on the ghosts.

The children created these pumpkins by gluing on squares of orange tissue paper.  These papers dried overnight,  then they cut out the 5 pumpkin shapes and added faces with markers.  We also had been learning facts about pumpkins, poems, etc.

This was the cover I used last year.  Sometimes I simply had the children draw Halloween things – or copied a different picture.  I had all the pages stapled into a book before we began, the children added the text and did one page each day.  As they completed the page they would read the entire book to me from the beginning up to today’s page.  That provided some one on one reading time with me – I would reinforce pointing to each work and looking at the beginning letter, etc. Because I had put the words in the pocket chart and we had reread it many times, the children were all able to “read” this book by the end of the week when they took it home.

I hope some of you might enjoy trying out this book too!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 12:02:27

    Thank you so much for sharing your ideas!! You have so much to offer after 22 years!!! I will be anxiously waiting more posts!!

    Reply

  2. Bambie
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 13:09:00

    Thanks for taking the time to post your ideas! I am excited that I found your blog and plan to check it often. I am a new kindergarten teach-this is my second year, but I am an old teacher and it is my 19th year of teaching.(The others were at the high school level. Figure that one out.) and I can relate to the grandma stuff. I have several grandkids but they all live far away. 😦

    Reply

  3. canadianparentcoach
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 12:27:55

    I am going to make these little books with my classes. Do you have a template saved?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

