Owen Books

As a teacher I loved making Language Experience books after a field trip or classroom event – I found that the children loved going back to reread these again and again.  With my class I sometimes had the children retell the event while I wrote it down, then they would draw pictures to illustrate it.  Other times I selected photographs from the event – we sequenced them in the right order, then as a class came up with the text to go along with the pictures.

So I decided that I would make some books for Owen after we do things together, and he absolutely loves reading these.  I tried to keep the text very simple using a pattern, and including his name so he will begin to recognize it in print.  Along with this Owen loves to look at these pictures as a slideshow on my computer.

Owen at the Farm

Please click on the title to see the photos of this book.  I printed the book on cardstock because I wanted it to be durable (he’s only 2!) and I stapled it together with a heavy duty stapler.  Now Owen turns the pages and “reads” his own little book!  The ideas for this are endless – I made books about going to the zoo, going to the park, etc.  But you could easily do routines like Owen Goes to Bed, or Owen Cleans Up, – just take step by step pictures and add the text.  What is more fun than taking pictures of your grandchildren?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 15:18:46

    We also have a Thanksgiving feast & it is a ball. The kids all bring in a white t-shirt that we dye light brown. Then we fringe the bottom and sleeves. The students are then given Indian symbols that they choose from to draw on their shirts (with fabric markers). It’s a great keepsake & the kids love wearing their art work.

    Reply

  2. vgwagoner
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 17:15:09

    What a great idea! I can see lots of uses for this in my classroom and with my on little one. Thanks for the blog. I look forward to incorporating the ideas into my classroom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

