Informational Text

I also created a book to reinforce expository text features.

I thought it was important for children to realize that all books have an author – story books as well as information books.

When we were studying these text features I passed out informational books to the children and we looked for all of these elements.  This showed the children that not all information books have all these features.

I did not include a page about Indexes, but that would be a good addition.

Here is a link if you would like to print the pages of this book.  I didn’t include the photocopied pictures from books that the children glued on because of copyrights.  I just xeroxed and reduced the cover of a book, and examples of the different text features.

Info Text Book

After learning about these text features each year we would make a class book using them.  Here is a book about animals that shows the informational text features.

Of course I wasn’t able to complete this page until the book was done so I could add the page numbers.

This page showed bold print.

This was an example of captions.  There were multiple pages to give more children a chance to add an illustration.

This was an example of labels.

We looked at examples of glossaries and learned that sometimes there was a description of a word, sometimes a picture illustrating what a word meant.

Other years I created a book about Earth Elements – Air, Land and Water; because our science curriculum changed.  The best part of this study was that for the rest of the year when I would read an information book to the class the children would be so excited when they saw bold print, captions and labels!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Klarfeld
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 11:44:26

    I LOVED your posts on books, sight words, etc.!
    Thank you so much for sharing, great ideas to implement!

    Reply

  2. Jon
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 02:41:43

    I love this blog. Your narrative text print outs were so helpful. Do you have the same resources available for informative text?

    Reply

    • dbsenk
      Nov 30, 2010 @ 20:26:51

      I am adding a link to my informational text book. For the parts the kids glue on just photocopy those parts of a book for your kids. I’m not comfortable printing the pictures I copied. Hope these are useful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

