Clouds

My goal was for children to notice different kinds of clouds and learn the names of 3 kinds.

This was 1/4 page book.

 

A long time ago most of the books that I made with children had longer, usually rhyming text on each page.  Back then I was trying to put lots of information into the books.  Later my goal for most books was to provided reading practice, as well as reinforcing our study of a particular subject so I changed to much simpler text, larger fonts and big spaces between words.  But for this cloud book – I wanted the children (and their parents) to learn the name of 3 clouds and remember how to recognize them, so I left the sentences.

This page says:  Cirrus clouds are way up high, light and fluffy in the sky.

Cumulus clouds are puffy and fat, they’re low in the sky and their bottoms are flat.

Stratus clouds are low and gray, we often wish they’d go away.

I used dryer lint for the gray clouds!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terry
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 12:05:56

    Hi,
    We are getting ready to do our weather unit and I wondered whether you might have templates for your cute weather books? The posted photos are a little blurry and I am having a hard time reading the owrds on my computer…of course it could be my eyes. Thank you for all your wonderful ideas and advice.
    Terry
    CA

    Reply

    • dbsenk
      Feb 11, 2011 @ 05:49:58

      Sorry it took me so long to reply, we are on vacation at Disneyworld! Sort of a delayed retirement trip – so much fun, but I miss those 3 babies!

      Here are the cloud poems, from memory!

      Cirrus clouds are way up high
      Light and fluffy in the sky.

      Cummulus clouds are puffy and fat
      They’re low in the sky and their bottoms are flat.

      Stratus clouds are low and gray
      We often wish they’d go away.

      Reply

  2. Laura
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 19:39:00

    Great book idea!

    What materials did you use for the cirrus and cumulus clouds?

    Reply

    • dbsenk
      Feb 26, 2012 @ 20:37:43

      I used small amounts of fiberfill for the cirrus clouds and encouraged them to stretch it out. The cumulus clouds were made of cottonballs glued on white paper with a flat side. Then the dryer lint on gray paper for the stratus clouds.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

