Holiday Senses

I usually taught a unit about our 5 senses early in the year, but I liked to reinforce this learning through the whole year.  One of the ways we reviewed and reinforced 5 senses was this simple book we made during the holiday season.

I actually made an entire book in front of the children, and read it several times.  Sometimes we read the words in a pocket chart too.  Then I took apart the book I made and put one page at each table, along with the materials to complete that page.  The children would each start out at their own table, then move to different tables to finish the book at their own speed. That is why it was important to put picture cues as well as the words on each page.  The children had to find the page in their book to match the sample page and materials at each table.  Each child read the book to me when it was finished, the picture cues also helped every child successfully “read.”

The children used a triangle tracer for the tree and I put out sequins, stars, all kinds of stuff to glue onto the tree.

Ahead of time I strung the bells on a piece of colored string and tied a knot.  The easiest way to do this was just to string a whole bunch of the bells and slide them down the string.  Then I would slide the bell closest to the end of the string about 2 inches from the end.  I’d cut off the string at about 4 inches and tie the knot, then slide the next bell down to the end and cut and tie it.  Parent helpers were great for this job!

The kids taped the string holding the bell on the page, then glued the paper bell over the top of the string.

I put cinnamon in an old glitter shaker.  The children would cut out and glue on the gingerbread man, then put glue on for the details.  They placed their book on top of a cookie sheet and sprinkled the cinnamon, then dumped off the extra onto the tray.  We often made cinnamon applesauce ornaments that day too because they smell so great!

The triangle for the hat used the same size tracer as the tree page.  I really modeled pulling off a small amount of fiberfill, and stretching it out.

The children traced a candy cane and painted the stripes, I modeled blotting it so we could read the book right away.  You could easily use markers instead.  I usually gave each child a mini candy cane when they read the completed book to me.

The text in this book can be easily adapted, depending on your class’s reading readiness, and which sight words you want to reinforce.  You could write  “I can see the tree…”  or “I like to see the tree…”  or “You can see the tree…”  or even  “I want to see the tree…”

I don’t have the masters for this book, but I am including a pdf copy of each page so you could use the clipart along with your own words.

100_0519

100_0520

100_0521

100_0522

100_0523

Sorry, I know there must be a way to put all these pages on one pdf file, I tried but it didn’t cooperate!  I really am just playing with this and trying to figure it out!  Any expert suggestions are very welcome!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allie Magnuson
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 21:43:12

    This is a great idea and I wish I would have seen it before I wrote a post about Christmas sensory integration for my blog on Scholastic.com, so I could include a link to it – or even do it with my own class! I like the hat; I didn’t think of that one!.

    You can see what I ended up doing by reading my post, called “Christmas Sensory Integration: Rudolph’s Light, Frosty’s Snow, Jingle Bells, and the Gingerbread Man”, at:

    http://blogs.scholastic.com/classroom_solutions/2010/12/christmas-sensory-integration-rudolph-frosty-jingle-bells-gingerbread-man.html

    Keep up the good work!

    ~Allie

    Reply

  2. Aaron G. Moore (@aarongmoore)
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 18:32:01

    I may try this with a grade one class later this month, adapting it for Hallowe’en.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

