The Important Book

This book was published in 1949, but I still love it!  Many of Margaret Wise Brown’s books have a very gentle, comforting message that draws young children, and they become some of their favorites!

The Important Book is a great tool to demonstrate a pattern in a book.  Each page begins with a fact about an object, then there are a couple of descriptive sentences, and then the first fact is repeated.

It is also great when you are discussing or practicing descriptive language – how to “show not tell.”  Another thing I often emphasized when we used this book was thinking about the MOST important part.

Near the end of the year I thought it was fun to make an Important Book about ourselves.  Of course you could make this book about anything!

I actually saved a formal lesson plan that I used for an observation by my principal one time, I never usually wrote up lesson plans like this unless I had to use a required format.

Important book lesson plan

This was a basic template to show the pattern:

Here is a copy to print:
basic template

Here is another sample that is more specific for the children to write about him or herself.

And the printable version:
Important Facts About me

I also made a template that gave the children more space to write:

Or if you would like to print it:

important thing template

So here is my version of this book:

The Important Thing about my blog is that I love to share my ideas.

I love thinking of teachers who take the time to read it.

I love slipping in stories about my grandchildren!

It is lots of fun to get comments from readers.

But the important thing about my blog is that I love to share my ideas!

Thanks for reading!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terry
    May 25, 2011 @ 17:43:06

    I love the Important Book and your blog.
    I am glad you think it is important to share, because my students and I have been greatly blessed.
    Terry
    CA

    Reply

  2. Jane
    May 30, 2011 @ 19:22:36

    I was looking for something fun and meaningful for the last few days of school. Thanks so much for all your great ideas! I refer to your site often.

    Reply

  3. Pennie
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 21:01:09

    Thanks for these printables. I really did not have much for this book so your ideas really help.

    Reply

  4. Helen
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 15:09:35

    Thanks for your blog and for sharing with us all! The important thing about teachers like you is that you are generous with your ideas! The important thing about teachers like me is that I am keen to learn from your expertise. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

