Summer Learning Packet

Research shows that many children lose some of the skills they have acquired over summer vacation.  I always encouraged parents to listen and read to their child, take them to a summer reading program at our local library, review and practice sight words and reread the books we made in class.  I also encouraged them to take their children lots of places and talk to them about everything!

I made summer calendars with suggestions of something to do each day to reinforce what we learned all year.

It took me about 20 years to figure out that it is MUCH easier to send a list of the activities instead of putting it in a calendar format.  I searched and searched (and am not very computer literate!) but I could never find a calendar program that would update it every year – so each year I had to retype the activities on a current calendar!!  It was crazy!  Then I realized I could just write the list instead – and I did this for our monthly homework calendars too!

Here is a printable version of the calendars:

monthly activities

I used to also send home a lot of activities for families to use to reinforce letters, sounds, rhyming, etc. over the summer.  But when my children began to come to Kindergarten full day almost all of my students were confident in those skills.  If you would like to send home materials to review those things, please check out my blog post called Parent Games under the Homework category.  There are links there for materials and suggestions of activities parents can do with their child.

I still wanted to send home some suggestions and activities, so we purchased reproducible leveled books from Reading A to Z, and I copied some of them for each family.   Here is the letter I sent home along with those books.

A to Z books letter

Here are a few other materials I included in our Summer Learning Fun Packet.

Our Everyday Math program had a reproducible sheet of coins that I included in each packet too.  I always told parents that it was even better to use real coins if they could!

Here is a set of the suggestions to print:

Summer Learning Fun suggestions

CoinGraph

 

 

 

science ideas

I included a chart to tally the weather – good reinforcement for both tallying and weather!

Summer Weather Tally Chart

I also wanted to encourage the children to practice and review our sight words over the summer.

Happy to share a format that you can print!

20 kdg words

sight and never again words letter

sight word memory

Sight Words

words for vests

I stocked up on spiral notebooks at the summer sales, and I gave each child one to use as a journal over the summer, along with some kind of fun writing tool.  I usually looked for colored pencils that have a spiral of different colors on each pencil.

I know these are crazy, stressful end of the year days!!  You are all in my prayers!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa
    May 31, 2011 @ 20:13:54

    YOu are amazing! I read & feel so much of us that are alike, although times 100 all the good things on your side.

    thank you for continuing to share.

    God bless you, & keep up the good work.

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 00:33:38

    Thank you so much! I love your site! I religiously check it and get super excited when I receive an email saying you posted something new!!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. dbsenk
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 07:03:48

    Thank you Erin! You made my day!!!

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 15:35:48

    I love your website! Thank you so much for all the great ideas! You have given me so many ideas! I have used some of them this year and am planning on using more next year. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  5. hidinginmylibrary
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 09:52:57

    Thanks for sharing! This is so neat!

    Reply

  6. Lynn
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 21:36:12

    Great ideas, am looking forward to implementing. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  7. Lynnie
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 08:52:39

    You are incredible. Thank you so much for sharing. I am so grateful and my team will be too. What a wonderful teacher!!!!

    Reply

  8. Robin
    May 05, 2013 @ 16:05:34

    Bless you for sharing this! I plan on using it. Hope you have a smooth end of the year!

    Reply

  9. jody
    May 14, 2015 @ 12:56:17

    im going to use these awesome and fun activities this summer with my great niece…can’t wait! Thanks so much!

    Reply

  10. TripleMamma
    May 12, 2016 @ 19:49:58

    TRIPLE THANKS for this!!! I have triplets ending their Kindergarten year and can really use help keeping them occupied this summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

