Farmer Bob

The school year is coming to an end and I know you are all immersed in assessment and report cards, and all that goes along with this very busy time.  I still have so much I wanted to share!!!!

I just came across a copy of my farm book.  My husband grew up on a farm, and the farmer we made looks suspiciously like him, so I called the book Farmer Bob.

The farmer slipped into this pocket on the front of the book, and the children could take him out to use as a pointer, or just to play with on each page as they read it!

The barn doors open and the children drew farm animals inside, and labeled them phonetically.

Along with this seed page we did lots of seed activities.  We read The Tiny Seed, and This is a Seed.  We sequenced the growth cycle, and planted seeds.  One of my favorite activities was soaking lima beans for a few hours, then having the children examine all the parts of a seed – the seed coat, the stem, the root, the food for the plant.  The lima beans were a great size and easy to examine.   Of course we used scientific tools like magnifying lenses and safety glasses.

I realized that most of the children from our suburban community had visited farms, and had quite a bit of knowledge about farms – but their understanding was that a farmer’s job was to take care of animals.  I tried to give them information about how the farmer’s job really is to grow or produce food.

My brother in law who is still farming usually visited my class bringing photographs and lots of farm toys – like cultivators, hay balers, and all kinds of farm “tools.”

We put the big tractor wheel on with a brad fastener and stuck bits of sticky foam to make heavy duty tread.  The projects and discussions just helped raise the children’s awareness of the jobs that people do on a farm, and some of the equipment they use.  Of course we followed up with a visit to a farm!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. canadianparentcoach
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 15:12:14

    Hi! I want to make Farmer Bob books this fall. Do you happen to have a blank copy of the book you could post? I love your graphics. Thanks!

    Reply

  2. kelley
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 18:13:06

    I love your Farmer Bob book! Do you have blacklines available?

    Reply

    • dbsenk
      Nov 06, 2013 @ 20:05:39

      Thank you Kelley, no I’m sorry, I didn’t save the masters for this book when I retired. I keep thinking about what I would have saved to share if I knew I would be writing this blog. I think you could get a simple farmer and tractor from free clipart. Sometimes I type in coloring page and get simpler pictures.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

