Silly Sally

If you are looking for a fun, short activity for these last crazy days, here is a remake of the story Silly Sally by Audrey Wood.

We read this book together and then brainstormed different ways to move – and of course we had to try out lots of them!

Then I took each child’s picture with their hands and legs spread out and glued them upside down on this page.

Each child told me how they would go to town – singing, hopping, sliding, etc.

The children added details to make it look like the ground and the sky.

I did this activity early in the school year, so I did the writing instead of the children this time.  I put them all together in a book using this cover:

I made enough class books for each child to take one home at the end of the year.  Sometimes I allowed one child to take each book home overnight, and left room at the back for comments or compliments from parents.  This one was always a favorite!

Here are pages to print:

Title

Silly Sally

Hope it’s not too hot – or at least that your school is air conditioned!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R. Love
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 13:55:15

    Thank you for sharing all your wonderful lessons. I’m always looking for new ideas. I couldn’t wait to see what you would post during the year. I really enjoyed the lessons and so did my class. Thank you again.

    Reply

  2. dbsenk
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 14:53:39

    That was such a nice comment! I am so grateful that you liked my blog!

    Reply

  3. Terry
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 13:46:10

    What a very cute idea to do when we start back in the fall. My students love classbooks, especially when they are in them.

    Reply

  4. mybuddiesandi
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 14:45:27

    Silly Sally is one of my favourite kid’s books. I love this idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

