Packing Up

Well this is it – the end of another year.  I was always amazed how the last few weeks of school just flew by.   I also remember that a few of those last days with the kids seemed to last forever when they were antsy and ready to be done!

One of the things that I found really helpful was to take some pictures of my classroom before I took it all apart.  Even if I wanted to do things differently the next year it really helped me remember exactly how it was set up.  Once the tables and shelves are all moved and all the walls are taken down I always had trouble remembering where things had been.

I took pictures of the table arrangements, the center configurations, and the circle time set up.  I also measured how much space I allowed for circle time – if I felt really crowded or wanted to make it a little smaller it really helped to know how much space I had used the year before.

I took a picture of my calendar set up, and which pocket charts I used in different areas of the room.

 

If you have to take down all the stuff on walls you might want to take a picture and make a note of where you put up permanent charts like the alphabet, numbers, etc.  I always thought I would remember, but there were times I stood there looking around and things just didn’t seem to fit!

I kept a file and it helped me remember how I had set things up a few years before if I wanted to go back to a previous arrangement.  Taking and keeping these pictures is so easy with a digital camera, and it only takes a few minutes.  I also tried to take pictures of bulletin boards or doors I had decorated with children’s work – so I could remember from year to year.

Of course you might also want to take pictures of other classrooms if you want to consider their arrangement when you go to set up in the fall!

I hope the end of the year is going well (or that you are already off enjoying a wonderful summer vacation!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 16:22:58

    Hi!
    I love your blog and look at it quite often. Please continue to share your terrific ideas with others. Have a relaxing summer.
    Pat

    Reply

  2. Patricia Garcia
    May 15, 2013 @ 17:22:21

    I absolutely loved all the resources you shared with us!!! Thanks, Patty Garcia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

