Super Kids Club!

I was looking at some old files and came across this idea that arose out of desperation one year!  I really loved teaching Kindergarten, and I always loved my kids, but there were a few groups that challenged me to be a better teacher!  I adopted the philosophy and practice of Conscious Discipline, by Becky Bailey and I really felt it worked well.  But in the middle of the year I sometimes felt like I needed to go back and reinforce some of our values and get all the kids working together as a group.

So one year, about mid year, I created the Super Kids Club!  When the kids came to school in the morning I had a picture of this little monster guy on the board and I told the kids that our class was going to start our own club.  I passed out “Club rings” – little plastic rings from Oriental Trading, and we colored pictures of the Super Kid monster to wear as necklaces.  We talked about how a club is a group of people who care about each other, just like all the kids in our room.

Then I told them that all clubs have special rules that everyone follows.  Our basic classroom rules were:  Be Safe, Be Kind, and Be Helpful.  In the fall we spent time talking about these rules and what they meant – and that my most important job is to keep the children safe.  These rules really were just a way to go back and reinforce these ideas.  I printed two on a page and copied them to send home to parents.

We learned a song that we started to sing every morning to reinforce these ideas.  It was to the tune of BINGO – they spelled out the letters for SUPER.

Then I asked each child to sign a pledge to be a Super Kid!

 

One thing I learned for sure, after all my years in Kindergarten is that every group of children is different.  When you have a more challenging class – or even just one or two children with challenging behaviors, you have to try everything you can think of!  There might be things that usually make a difference and they’re just not working.  But those kids are going to keep showing up every morning and you have to keep trying different things until you find something that works!  And when you find something that works – it might only work for a short time, and you’ll need to try something else!  That’s why Kindergarten teachers are so creative and flexible!  We never give up!  Just keep loving those kids, and keep trying new things!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sandra
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 08:31:06

    Thank you for your fabulous hints. This year I have a number of challenges and I am certainly going to try out the Club.

    Keep the great ideas coming!!

    Reply

  2. E. Vaughn
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 16:02:53

    Thanks so much for sharing this information. I definitely have one of those classes this year and I’m at that point where I need “something else” as you mentioned. It helps to know that I’m not the only one facing these challenges.

    Reply

  3. Debbie McKnight
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 22:14:23

    I’m so going to do that next year. Great idea.

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 11:46:46

    Another great idea, thank you!

    Reply

  5. kelley
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 18:06:01

    Great ideas! Thanks for sharing:)

    Reply

  6. Kim
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 13:27:32

    I am drowning this year with challenging kids! Thank you so much for sharing your ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

