Building Children’s Brains

brain work child

I am very excited to share a wonderful resource with you.  I’m sure you are all familiar with some of the extensive brain research that has impacted how we teach, and even how we relate to children in the last few years.    I got permission to share an audio recording with you that explains brain development in very understandable language.  Dr. Joan Lessen-Firestone, the Director of Early Childhood Education at Oakland Intermediate School District here in Michigan, presented this information and the CD I received was sponsored in collaboration with the Michigan Association for Infant Mental Health, the Michigan 4C Association, and the Michigan Council for Maternal and Child Health.  Dr. Firestone is a wonderful teacher, and I have listened to this information again and again.  I also made copies for my adult children before they had babies of their own.

01 Building Brains 1

Dr. Firestone gave me permission to share this information.  I hope you will listen to it and share it to help build a basic understanding of brain development.

I have been thinking of all you teachers so much the last few weeks, with many of you working on report cards and holiday celebrations, and then with the devastating events that have overtaken the news.  I wish you all a wonderful and peaceful break from your jobs, and special times with your families.  I know you never really quit thinking and planning even when you aren’t in school each day, but please take time to enjoy your blessings.

Merry Christmas!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff Senk
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 20:16:39

    Did you know that 954 people subscribe to you blog and get an email every time you update it?

    ________________________________

    Reply

  2. Nina
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 10:28:50

    I just wanted to tell you that your blog is great! You have lot’s of wonderful ideas! It really has helped me become a better teacher! A BIG thank you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

