Happy 4th of July!

P1070592

You can’t start off any holiday better than with delicious donuts!  We enjoyed ours while waiting for our local small town parade!  Later in the afternoon we had a family party and I decided to share the games we played.  All of these were very simple, fast games – nothing that new or exciting but the kids had lots of fun

I hadn’t really intended to make a check off sheet, but when Owen arrived he asked me to make a list of all the games – so I couldn’t resist!  I found a booklet of 4th of July stickers at a dollar store, so the kids put a sticker on their chart when they finished each game.

Games

The games were set up all over our backyard and driveway, and the kids and parents went off to do them any way they chose.

Bucket Brigade

Water fun is always a hit!  Lily loved filling and pouring the water, and she always wanted to pour it into the same tub as Mommy!  That way they both win!

P1070663

Skyscrapers

P1070625

P1070629

P1070678

P1070640

Car races I thought I had a bunch of these ramps that I brought home from school but I couldn’t find them.  Luckily, my in-house handy man nailed together these ramps in just a few minutes.

P1070653

P1070681

Spoon RaceP1070656

P1070646

Airplanes

P1070692

P1070693

Float and Sink

My original idea was to use margarine tubs or paper cups and put pennies in them to make them sink.  When I was gathering materials around the house I found these cardboard food containers from Gordon Food Service, like they use for nachos, etc.  So we used those with the little people from Fisher Price toys.  They loved this game!

P1070616

P1070707

Tower of Cups

P1070635

One of our guests took the direct route and just pushed the bean bag into the pyramid of cups – it was very effective!

P1070606

We all had lots of fun!  I hope you had a wonderful, fun and safe holiday too!

P1070710

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zakowskid
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 13:12:37

    I just love all of your ideas…..I’ve borrowed so many of them over time. This one will come in handy for my next outdoor games activity. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Valerie
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 08:22:28

    Being a Grandma is such fun! I love your ideas and will use them with my grand kids on a just for fun game day.

    Reply

  3. Darcy
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 16:07:31

    This is awesome. I wish I would have done this with my kids when they were little!

    Reply

  4. Judy Gabris Buckley
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 17:27:59

    Most Patriotic Creative Grandma award goes to you! You’re making wonderful memories for those lucky children. Thanks for sharing your ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

