We Are Thankful!

Thanksgiving is a great time to talk about gratitude and what it means to be thankful.

Here are two of my favorite books to help spark that discussion:

51Wg-ScvU-L

Scan 296

I also like this book that gives information about the history of Thanksgiving, and a great short description of the first Thanksgiving; and uses the format of an alphabet book!

Scan 297

I thought it might be fun to use the alphabet book format to make a class book about things we are thankful for.  After brainstorming and making a list as a group, each child could illustrate the page for a different letter of the alphabet.

thankful pdf

I am having so much fun helping out in Owen’s Kindergarten classroom each week.  I am a little rusty on all the copy machine tricks, but I love getting a little peek back into a classroom.  Owen’s great teacher, Ms. Rosing, gave me permission to share a fun turkey book they will be reading.

Scan 293

Scan 295

Isn’t this a fun idea?  She asked me to tie a feather onto a 26 inch length of yarn and tape it to the back upper corner of the book.   The children can use the feather as a reading pointer, and of course to tickle their turkey!  I know they will love it.

I was thinking about all the different reasons teachers might provide this activity for their class.  They might be focusing on pointing to each word as they read or helping children develop confidence reading, since most of the text is repetitive.  They might be assessing which children try to decode the last word of each sentence that changes from page to page.

I thought it might be helpful to add a picture cue so every child could be successful reading this book independently.  Of course you can cover the pictures before you copy it if you prefer.

Scan 286

Scan 287

Scan 288

Scan 289

Scan 290

Scan 291

Scan 292

Here is another idea you might like:

words

Happy Thanksgiving!

As for me, I am thankful for my family … and for teachers who share!  (Thanks Laura!)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WEndy thomposn
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 20:40:10

    THanks so much! I was looking for some good kindergarten thanksgiving books and you came to my rescue! So thankful for your ideas!

    Reply

  2. Wendy Thompson
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 21:12:51

    Is there any way I can make a copy of the emergent turkey reader book?

    Reply

    • dbsenk
      Nov 13, 2014 @ 21:37:31

      You are welcome to, I posted the pages as jpg, so I think you should be able to print them. Please let me know if that doesn’t work.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

