The Cat in the Hat!

Monday was my regular day to volunteer in my grandson’s Kindergarten class, and they were celebrating Dr. Seuss’ birthday!   I learned a new Cat in the Hat song, to the tune of the Addams Family – including the finger snaps!

Song

After singing this song several times the class made a book to go with it.  I adapted it a little, leaving spaces for the children to write the c and h for cat and hat.  You could also put up this chart for the children to read with a pointer!  I am sharing the book with 2 on each page so you could just xerox it on the collate mode, then cut it in half to make 2 books in one.

Cat in the hat book1

Cat in the hat book2

Cat in the hat book3

Cat in the hat book4

Cat in the hat book5

Cat in the hat book6

Cat in the hat book7

Cat in the hat book8

Cat in the hat book9

Cat in the hat book10

Cat in the hat book11

The final page of the book gives children a chance to write words from the AT family.  In Owen’s class they highlighted word wall words – using highlighters is always a hit!

Then the children did another fun project.

IMG_8558

It was my job, as a volunteer, to paint the children’s hands.

First I painted their right hand – white palm and blue fingers.  I pressed their hand near the top of a 9 x 12 piece of paper.  Then I painted their left hand all red – except I left their ring finger without paint, to give Thing 1 and Thing 2 both legs and arms.  I turned the paper upside down and made the red handprint, just touching the white palm.

IMG_8561 copy

After it dried we painted an oval in the center of Thing’s body.

IMG_8562

During the afternoon the children added the face and a numeral 1 or 2 on the circle.  Lots of fun!

Happy Dr. Seuss Day!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. paulalyra
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 10:36:35

    You have fabolous ideas.

    Reply

  2. Rose, Judith A.
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 05:57:38

    I’m going to use this next year, if I’m in First Grade again! Judy Rose Avocado Elementary School Homestead, Florida ________________________________________

    Reply

  3. Christine
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 19:42:50

    Hi!
    Your ideas are so clever! I’d love to use the song & book with my kinders next week, but I can’t seem to download it?? Perhaps I missed the link?
    Thanks so much! Keep the ideas coming!
    Christine

    Reply

    • dbsenk
      Mar 06, 2015 @ 19:53:23

      I attached everything as a jpg file. I think you just click on it, then save or print. Please let me know if you still can’t open them, I can send you a pdf.

      Reply

  4. Christine
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 13:21:19

    I’m struggling with opening it…if it is not too much trouble, I would love the pdf version! Thanks so much!
    kcahcrim@comcast.net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

