Vacation Activities!

My Grandchildren were going on vacation, and traveling by car, so I decided to collect a few things to help keep them busy on the trip.  My first stop was a Dollar Tree store where I found these wonderful magnetic word, letter and picture cards.

Dollar Tree

I loved how there was a picture for each alphabet letter in the first set.  Color words, shape words, and images of shapes in the second set.  The third set contains many of the sight words the girls have been learning and the last set had compound words and pictures that matched.   I also bought a small metal rectangular cookie sheet for each of them.  They could use these cookie sheets for the magnets or as a small hard surface to draw and write on.

Along with these I also gave the children these logos and action pictures, as well as pictures of people in the family.  All of these were printed on cardstock and cut apart, then I put a small magnet on the back so they could create sentences on their cookie sheets.Logo:verbs

IMG_4005

Dollar Tree also had these very sturdy plastic pockets.  I made a few games for the children to play with wipe off markers, and I also gave them a blank page so they could just draw or write on the plastic and wipe it off with a small piece of felt or half a magic eraser sponge.

Build a man

This was one of the pages that would slip into the plastic pocket.  The game is really Hang Man but when I started playing with Owen he seemed so young I hated to have him drawing a hangman – so instead we just added body parts and built a man.  Guess it sounds a bit silly, but I liked this version better!  The kids could play this with each other as long as they stuck with the sight words or family names that they all know how to spell.

tic tac toe

I made tic tac toe boards that would go into the plastic sleeves.  I also printed off some pages that had a simple clipart picture that the children could practice stretching out the sounds to write the word.

ABC journal covers copy

These were the covers of alphabet journals I made for each child.  They had a half page for each letter of the alphabet.  I asked the girls to draw and label something that began with each letter.  I asked Owen to draw things and write a sentence about things he saw for each letter.

license-plate-map-game-kcedventures

I printed off this USA map for the children to color in as they saw license plates from different states.

Can you see hunt

I found a simple scavenger hunt for the children to check off as they saw things on their travels.  There are many choices on Pinterest.

My grandchildren love Mo Willems books and I found these step by step drawings of Pigeon, Piggy and Elephant.  They could use the wipe off sleeves or paper.

pigeon

elephant-piggie-drawing 2

elephant-piggie-drawing 3

 

They like these step by step drawing so I included a few more.

Step_by_Step_drawing.73221714

My favorite thing that I included was a stamped envelope that I labeled with my own address, so the children could write me a note or send me pictures.  Later I heard that they wrote the notes and sealed the envelopes without even mentioning it to their parents – they just asked them to mail the letters!

They had a wonderful vacation!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. waudd
    Jul 09, 2016 @ 11:25:44

    This is the kind of grandmother I want to be! With a nine month old granddaughter and a three month old grandson, I can’t wait! I also just retired from teaching kindergarten! Love your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

