Family Field Day

Our family was in need of some fun this weekend.  Monday would have been school field day, so we decided to hold one of our own.

I made a check off list for each child to keep track of our activities.

 

Our first activities were for the whole group, and the parachute is always a favorite.

The parachute is always fun but it can be hard to think of ways to use it, especially outside, so I came up with a few ideas we tried out.

After the parachute the kids all held hands and passed a hula hoop around the circle without letting go of each other.

Next we set up an obstacle course through the back yard – over, under and around – they even walked the plank over a kiddie pool.

Our last group game was a sack race.  I made sacks out of old flannel lined plastic tablecloths for our sack race.

It was too windy to do the pool noodle game.  The idea was to stand in a circle, and for each child to hold a pool noodle standing on its end.  When I said GO they were supposed to let go of their noodle and run to the right to grab the next pool noodle without letting it fall.  It was too breezy for them to get the pool noodles to stand up.

 

After the group games the children were free to do the rest of the activities in any order they wished.  I wrote out simple directions that I posted by each activity.

Here is the master of the monster feet I printed off.  I taped them onto the driveway.


 

 

I didn’t have signs for a few activities

Bean bag toss

Bowling

Squirt Gun Boat race

And bubbles!

It was a wonderful afternoon!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pablo Pulido
    Oct 07, 2020 @ 12:17:12

    Hi dbsenk,
    My name is Pablo Pulido. I’m an English teacher in a Spanish Primary School. I’m working on a Solar System Project with my students, so I wondered if you can allow me to use your “Outter Space” poem to upload on my YouTube channel.

    Thank you for your help and your attention.

    Greetings, Pablo.

    Reply

Leave a comment